The 5 Love Languages for A Happy Marriage

Have you ever wondered what the secret is to a long, happy marriage? I am completely serious when I tell you I’ve found it.

I learned it in the book, The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts, the #1 New York Times bestselling book by Dr. Gary D. Chapman.

Communication doesn’t break down because men are from Mars and women are from Venus. It’s because we often speak different love languages than our spouse.


In the book, Dr. Chapman explains the 5 Love Languages using wonderful stories and examples from real couples he has helped through marriage counseling. He says it’s the secret to keeping love alive.

The 5 Love Languages

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Acts of Service
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Quality Time
  5. Physical Touch

Reading this book helped understand what makes me feel loved and what makes my husband feel loved.

I found out that my top two love languages are Quality Time and Physical Touch. That means, I feel loved by spending time with my husband doing things together, kissing and cuddling. Although I appreciate gifts from my husband, they don’t make me feel loved. The best gift my husband could give me is a planned date together!

On the other hand, my husband’s top two love languages are Acts of Service and Physical Touch.  Often, we express our love to others using our own primary love language(s) so you can see how that can lead to trouble in paradise if your romantic partner doesn’t speak your same love language.

For example, my husband could do things for me like clean the house and go to the grocery store to express his love. Those things are very nice, but since Acts of Service is not my primary love language, I will still feel like he’s not showing me love if we’re not spending Quality Time together.

Do you see how marital problems can easily occur when couples don’t learn to express love in their spouse’s love language?

That’s why one of the best things you can do for your marriage or romantic relationship is to read and apply The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts.

A copy of the book and a promise to speak your partner’s love language is one of the most thoughtful Valentine’s Day or anniversary gifts you could give your sweetheart. It expresses your love and commitment much more than chocolate, flowers or jewelry. You could also give the book as a thoughtful wedding gift.

P.S. Anyone can take the free 5 Love Languages Personal Profile at to determine their primary love language(s).

 Whatever the quality of your marriage now, it can always be better.  – Dr. Gary D. Chapman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge